kitchen successes & failures

I found myself with a strange craving for eggs the other day. I found this exceptionally bizarre because I really don’t find myself craving anything from my “pregan” days–not even cheese (though you’ll see below that I do tend to use daiya liberally nonetheless).

Not only did I want eggs, I wanted an omelette. A quick google search landed me on a potential recipe–basically, tofu scramble using silken tofu rather than extra firm–but it warned about the trickiness of flipping the “omelette” and keeping it all in tact. Silly me, I tried anyway. Here is the succession of my failure. I aptly refer to this as the tofu omelette mess:

Luckily, I don’t have too many kitchen catastrophes. I replaced tofu with seitan in my simple stir fry recipe and the results were sensational:

I’m a busy vegan lady and I don’t always have time to prepare everything from scratch. Luckily,it’s gardein and daiya to the rescue! Behold, “chicken” tender lettuce wraps with slices of daiya havarti (my number one most favoritest cheese substitute thus far):

So, that’s what I’ve been up to the past couple of weeks. How about you?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “kitchen successes & failures

  1. Might not look like an omelet, but it does look pretty good!

  2. Melissa says:

    The omelette looks delicious!!

  3. It still looks really tasty to me! And those chikin lettuce wraps look so yummy…I want one right now.

  4. birds fly says:

    Looks like your omelet came out better than when I tried making one. Of course I was using a cast iron skillet so failure was inevitable. But I wanted an omelet, dammit, so I plunged on ahead. It did taste good, though. I don’t have a nonstick pan so won’t be trying it again, but I wonder if it would work better if you cooked it on both sides first before adding the filling? Might be more stable and easier to fold at that point.

    • You know, I think I’m just going to ask my boyfriend to try it next time the craving attacks. I was never good at flipping traditional omelettes anyway–that was his specialty. I’ll just have to use his expertise!

  5. Kinenchen says:

    I add a little potato starch and xanthan gum to vegan omelet along with a well oiled non-stick pan. Fortunately it doesn’t have to be pretty to taste rawrsome!

Leave a Reply

