coconut rice stir fry, aka YUM!

Thanks to the adventures of the lovely Vegan Charlie, I was recently reminded of how delicious coconut rice is. My last foray with coconut rice got a little off track–I went a little nuts with the cayenne pepper and the dish was almost too spicy to consume (almost being the operative word here). I decided to use Vegan Charlie’s recipe idea as a launching pad and I concocted something similar, but a tad bit different. And it was delicious! Here’s what I came up with, mostly credited to Vegan Charlie, of course!

Coconut Rice Stir Fry
1 cup uncooked basmati rice
1 can Thai Kitchen Lite Coconut Milk
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp+ red pepper flakes (to taste)
1 cup sliced mushrooms
1/4 yellow onion, chopped
1 cup broccoli florets
1 container baby corn, halved
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp teryaki sauce
3 tbsp House of Tsang spicy szechuan stir fry sauce
1 tbsp vegetable oil

Bring coconut milk, rice, and spices to a boil. Cover and simmer on low heat for 12 minutes, or until rice is tender and much of the coconut milk has been absorbed. In the meantime, heat oil in a frying pan and begin browning the onions. A few minutes into cooking the onions, add mushrooms. Onions and mushrooms take the longest so they need more time than the broccoli and baby corn. When the mushrooms and onion are nearly done, add the remaining veggies. Stir fry for a few minutes until veggies are at your desired consistency. Add combined sauces and continue to stir fry for 2-3 minutes.

I have been on such a mushroom kick lately–this coming from someone who used to order omelettes and pizzas sans mushrooms!

Simple! And delicious. The combination of sauces is simultaneously sweet, salty, and spicy. A wonderful combination of tastes that uniquely complements the flavor of the coconut rice. I can’t even describe this flavor combination to you. It’s strangely satisfying! Try it, already!

This recipe yields about 3.5 servings, each serving coming out to less than 400 calories. How’s that for a home run?

Happy stirfrying!

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “coconut rice stir fry, aka YUM!

  1. vegancharlie says:

    OMG I love this!! awe 😀 I never thought to try mushrooms next time I’m trying the stuff you added as well lol never ending recipe journey. I completely ❤ this post. loos yummy!

    • It was really good!! Go easy on the hot pepper flakes if you’re sensitive to spiciness–definitely adds a kick to the dish, but I wasn’t sweating/crying like I was when I added cayenne to it–haha!

Leave a Reply

