food, guilt, and glory

I’ve been feeling a little guilty about what I’ve been eating lately, and with good reason. My cooking has gotten lazy and sloppy. I haven’t had one of my green smoothie breakfasts in a few weeks. I’ve been forgetting to sprinkle ground flaxseed on my oatmeal. I’m pretty much the worst vegan. I feel especially bad when I see posts like this where the fruit and veggies look so good but I can’t pinpoint why I’ve stopped trying. I had a great time acquainting myself with all sorts of new meals when I first went the vegan route but it seems like now, all I have any interest in eating is vegan cupcakes, fried seitan, and carbs. Whoops.

So in an effort to change all that… I went to the store today and picked up a bunch of fresh produce with great intentions to cook some delicious meals this week. However, the grocery store is out of kale. It seems like every time I have plenty of kale at home, so do they. But then when I show up, kaleless, requiring a bunch of it, it’s all gone. Ugh. Stupid.

Since I haven’t been eating the most balanced meals, I don’t have a whole lot of food to report from the past week…but I will share the few pictures I do have.

I discovered that I have an affinity for the Indonesian Peanut Sautee at Noodles & Co so I tried to recreate it at home. This wasn’t exactly a home run. I used rice noodles, broccoli, green beans, red and green bell peppers, water chestnuts, tofu, bean sprouts, and a bottled peanut satay sauce. The sauce was not great. I am in search of a spicy peanut stir fry sauce I can make it home on the cheap & easy. If you can address this need of mine, lemme know!

On my way home from work the other day, I received email notification that one of the lovely ladies over at Turning VEGANese had posted this and thought, man that sounds good. I skimmed the post at stop lights and decided to make a pitstop at the grocery store to pick up some peppers. I stuffed mine with arborio rice, kidney beans, lightlife protein crumbles seasoned with homemade taco seasoning, and I baked in the peppers for about 30 minutes, topping with some daiya cheddar for the last 5 or so minutes. It was delicious.

The rest of the food this week that goes unpictured was mostly takeout. I hate myself for that. I also made some more buffalo fried seitan on Friday because I like to treat myself on the weekend and that has quickly become one of my favorite meals. I also, against my better judgment, picked up one of these at the grocery store and made it for lunch:

Was this worth the 7.79 I spent on it? Um, hell yeah. I’m ashamed that I succumbed to paying that much money for pizza, but damn it if it wasn’t delicious. I had never had any of the Amy’s Kitchen products and I can now say with certainty that I know what all the fuss is about! I chalked this up to a need for some major comfort food after a very odd and offputting craving for mac & cheese. I used to love cheese and I think I pretty much ate it every day at some capacity while I was a vegetarian. Since adopting a vegan diet, I have had zero cravings for cheese (despite occasionally using daiya and teese…but honestly, I have not once really NEEDED cheese)…until today. I wanted it in the worst way. So I got this Amy’s pizza and it, in all its cheeseless glory, completely satisfied me.

My boyfriend and I went for a nice 30 minute walk this morning as the weather is just gorgeous. Thank god, it dipped down into the 60s this weekend. I was getting really tired of the 80 degree March days. It is just the perfect temperature for open windows. No sweat or misery today, and the sun is shining.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “food, guilt, and glory

  1. If I don’t do anything else this week, I will at least serve a meal in a bell pepper.

    • I highly recommend it. Stuffed peppers are amazing. It adds a lot of color to the dish, too, if you get creative with the red, yellow or orange ones! Green are my favorite though so I just kept it simple.

  2. Wow, you have no idea how delicious those stuffed peppers look right now!!

  3. I’ve been going through the same thing. Ever since getting back from Berlin, I feel like all I’ve been eating is carbs. I put on a couple of pounds, which is the first time I’ve gained weight since going vegan. I’m seriously sick of pasta. This week, I’ve been trying to cut back on grains and focus on more whole plant foods. I am finally starting to feel better and my clothes are fitting better.

    • It’s so easy to get into a rut. My saving grace is that I bought an 8 lb bag of grapefruit for 3 bucks and I have to eat them all before they go bad! Nothing like “eat it before it goes bad” to get you into produce mode!

  4. Kinenchen says:

    YAY! Thanks for posting this. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. vegancharlie says:

    yum! stuffed peppers. Don’t feel bad about not making the best choices lately. There are times when I find myself on the college student diet ( Too broke to buy groceries, too stubborn to ask parents) lol so I know there are times when I don’t eat my best either. You are not alone. You’ll get back on track. At least you’re walking and you did make those stuffed peppers ๐Ÿ˜€ …by the way.. mind sharing next time LOL!

    • Oh trust me, very familiar with the college student diet. I gained a lot of weight back in those days! If only I’d thought to be vegan back then…maybe I’d saved a few pounds! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. The stuffed peppers look great! I crave carbs and sweets and all that stuff like mad crazy about once a month…go figure. I indulge though because I have no will power and I convince myself that I even it out with better foods the other days of the month.

Leave a Reply

