inspired

I’ve got to say that I was discouraged today, all day, because I knew run 3 of Week 4 was knocking on my door. Do I enjoy working out on a Friday after work? No. Do I enjoy running when I know it’s hard and it hurts? No. But am I keeping up with it? Yes, somehow, I am.

I am slightly ashamed to admit that I googled “when does running get easier?” today, hoping I could find some tips or some inspiration. And I did. There’s a discussion here and I have to say this comment really, really made me smile:

It depends on your goals.

If you’re running strictly for fitness, once you get to 3-4 runs per week, 3+ miles each, it really becomes pleasant.

If you’re training to race, the only easy day was yesterday.

I just really love that. That really resonates with me. Until I get to the 3 miles, it’s going to be hard work every single workout.  But I am pleased to say that today, the last workout of Week 4, I passed with (in my opinion) flying colors. I did not have to adjust my speed to run slower during the second half of the workout. I did not have to stop and walk in the middle of the last five running minutes. I really, really tried hard to focus on my breathing. And my heart rate never exceeded 180 until the last five minutes, when it got to 190. For the first two runs, it didn’t get past 175. This is a huge improvement from maxing out recently around 190-195 after the first and second periods of running in my last few workouts.

What this boils down to is I am going to attempt Week 5 next week instead of repeating Week 4, giving myself permission to step back if I feel I need to. This is huge!

That’s really all I have to report. My run left me energized. I’m glad it’s the weekend. I’m hosting some friends tomorrow and I’m going to make some delish vegan schtuff. Oh, and I’m drinking a beer. Friday beers are the best kind. 🙂

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “inspired

Leave a Reply

