comfort food x 10: buffalo seitan sandwich *happy dance*

I ate something so good today that it makes me do a happy dance just thinking about it.

I drew inspiration from several sources and came up with a delicious (not so good for me) comfort food: buffalo fried seitan sandwich. Oh my god!

Originally I was going to make beer battered seitan, then I remember how good this recipe is, then I considered making a buffalo seitan wrap…but then I stumbled upon something that brought back beautiful, loving memories of chicken (namely, the buffalo chicken sub at Subway which was popular when I was in college). Enter vegan ranch dressing.

Until this point, I have steered clear of vegan mayo and any recipes that have utilized it. I wish I hadn’t. It’s so eerily similar to the real deal that I have to wonder why ANYONE in the world eats animal products. Vegan knock-offs get a bad rap for having a funky “vegan” taste, but in actuality–and excuse my biased, humble opinion–these products taste just as good, if not better!

My boyfriend’s jaw dropped at this food. This food was just amazing. Ahhhh-mazing. Buffalo fried seitan, delicious. Vegan ranch dressing, delicious. Melted daiya mozzarella, delicious. What the hell is not to like?

Vegan Buffalo Fried Seitan Subs
Yields 2 large sub sandwiches

Ingredients: Buffalo Seitan
1 package seitan (I used WestSoy brand)
1/4 cup Frank’s Red Hot Sauce (or hot sauce of your choosing)
1/4 cup Earth Balance (or vegan margarine of your choosing)
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp paprika
1 tsp ground black pepper
approx. 1 cup whole wheat flour (for breading)
approx 1 cup plain soy milk (for breading)
cooking oil of your choosing
2 sub or sandwich rolls
daiya mozzarella

Ingredients: Vegan Ranch Dressing
1/2 cup Vegenaise (or vegan mayo of your choosing)
1/4 cup plain soy milk
1 tsp dried dill weed
1 tsp garlic powder
cracked black pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400. In a frying pan, warm some oil while you drain your seitan. Cut or break into medium-sized pieces. Dredge seitan pieces in soy milk, then flour, then add to oiled pan. Fry until brown on all sides, adding oil if necessary. Melt Earth Balance in a small sauce pan, and once melted, add hot sauce, pepper, onion powder, paprika, and garlic powder. Whisk until combined and warmed. Toss seitan pieces with hot sauce.

Situate two buns on a pan and spoon seitan and sauce onto buns. Add desired amount of daiya.

Bake in the oven for 5 minutes, or until daiya has melted. Mix ingredients in a small bowl for vegan ranch dressing. Remove from oven and spread ranch dressing on one side of your roll and add any veggies you’d like–I just added some chopped romaine. Die of happiness because this is what heaven tastes like.

Forewarning: this is finger-lickin’ good. Have napkins handy.


As long as you’re not gluten-free, there is simply just nothing not to like about this. Except maybe the nutritional info. I’ll be honest, I didn’t count the calories. It really, really hit the spot. I think I’ll be making some buffalo seitan for my get-together on Saturday!

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “comfort food x 10: buffalo seitan sandwich *happy dance*

  1. Outta the ballpark! You are so right (and I often think it) why eat animal when the vegan shizz is so good??

  2. mlhouse says:

    Definitely going in my “to try” folder! Sounds yumm-o! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Whooooa… what a good idea. I’ll be making this soon!

  4. Ovensports says:

    I tried this today (just the buffalo seitan part since I’m not a fan of ranch) and it was absolutely delicious and easy! Thanks for posting this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

