midnight snack

I don’t think fruit was intended to be eaten this way.

Especially by people who are trying to lose weight and have already overstayed their caloric welcome for the day.

Regardless, I needed a midnight 9 pm snack. I read somewhere today about caramelized banana peanut butter toast. And then I got to thinking. Who needs the peanut butter toast? How about some straight-up caramelized bananas?

It’s so easy–and so delicious–it should be criminal.

Easy Vegan Caramelized Banana
Serves 1 (or 2, if you’re keen on sharing, which I am not)

1 banana
1-2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp melted vegan “butter” (I used Earth Balance)
splash of vanilla extract

Slice your banana length-wise and then into smaller segments and add to a bowl. Melt butter in the microwave. Toss butter with banana slices until coated. Add brown sugar and vanilla and toss. In a frying pan over medium-high heat, add bananas and cook for a minute or two on each side. Don’t let the butter and sugar mixture caramelize too much because you’ll want to pour over your bananas once transferred to a plate!

look at all that ooey-gooey sauce

Mine were tender but I think I’d aim to have a slightly crisped banana with a tender inside. You have to be careful not to overcook, though, so I played it safe.

Eat, sigh, rejoice. Enjoy over soy yogurt or simply by itself. Life is delicious.

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “midnight snack

  1. mlhouse says:

    That looks waaaay too good!

  2. caretobeglam says:

    that looks good!!! i’m gonna have to try this out!

  3. thewronggirlwrites says:

    Oh dear NOM. This is exactly the type of treat I go for. And I always treat myself at night…double no-no.
    I just ate an entire box of frosted corn flakes, with butterscotch sauce, and vegan nutella(from Spar). AN ENTIRE BOX. I don’t even add milk, I just dump everything into the box :O I call it a midnight binge.

    I will definitely destroy myself one night with your little recipe.

  4. So simple and soooo sweet..just the way I like it.

Leave a Reply

