binge

Week 3 of the couch to 5k is not killing me, contrary to what I believed would be the case. (Cue corny joke about what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.) In fact, I think I’m finally getting into somewhat of a groove with this whole running thing. I find week 3 to be less exhausting than week 2. I think the short spurts of running/walking of week 2 were more fatiguing because it required me to change my pace 12 times, whereas week 3 only requires me to change my pace 8 times. Even though this includes two longer spurts of 3 minutes each, I find that I’m not tiring out as much. This is progress, I think!

I make it a point to check my heart rate after each period of running. I like to keep an eye on my heart because I’ve had high blood pressure in the recent past and I have an irrational fear that cardio will literally kill me. It’s widely accepted that your MAX heart rate should be 220 minus your age but you should only be exercising to about 80% of that to be safe. This means I should be around 157, which uh… is not the case. I am usually fluttering around the max after I run, but I’m starting to see a steep decline. After my initial 1.5 minutes of running, I’ve been around 150-160, as opposed to a week ago when 1.5 minutes of running had me around 180-190. I think this is excellent news. Heart-healthy exercise!

But I slipped into some comfortable bad habits…like binging. I mean, I don’t know if I should really use the B word because it’s not like I sat on the kitchen floor and consumed an entire cake. But I picked up some junk food at Fresh Market (such as peanut-butter filled pretzels, biscoff cookies, a Theo bar…) and in the past two days, have consumed the majority of it. Ugh. I have an emotional eating problem and I’ve definitely been stressed…it’s like I can pinpoint why I’m doing it but it doesn’t make me stop. As I’ve written about, I recently read Women Food and God by Geneen Roth in my yoga + book club class (which just ended on Sunday, sadface) and I felt like I could relate, I felt like I was learning…but I didn’t put it into practice. I could read that book 5 more times and still learn about myself. I think I’m somewhat resistant: I can identify my problem, I can locate the reasons I do it, but that doesn’t give me the strength to overcome it. I’ve got to dig deeper.

So due to that little hiccup, I can’t say that I’ve lost a lot of weight yet or seen a big difference. In fact, I’m going to amp up the cardio–tomorrow is my running “off” day but I’m still heading to the gym to do some weights and probably some cardio on the elliptical. The running isn’t leaving me sore so I’m hesistant to say that I’m getting a great workout. I did kind of roll my ankle today, though (yes, on a treadmill, who does that?), so I’ll have to take it a little easy for the rest of the week.

I’ve been lazy about cooking and haven’t made anything at home the past few days. The only culinary masterpiece to report back about is the salads I’ve been bringing to lunch (no pictures, unfortunately)–baby spinach topped with all kinds of delicious fruit, sliced almonds, and raspberry vinaigrette. Mmm.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “binge

  1. Kinenchen says:

    You’re not alone. I have it easier since being gluten intolerant means I avoid a lot of processed flour (cookies, cakes, chips, pretzels, etc.)… but I still devour tablespoons full of peanut or almond butter when I feel unfulfilled. Be patient. You’re on the right track. Don’t ignore the scale but pay attention to how your jeans fit too… big thighs as you train for a 5K is only a problem if you have to get a bigger belt too, if you know what I mean. In the grand scheme of things, it’s about feeling good and being healthy, not about how you’re shaped.

  2. We all have setbacks! Don’t beat yourself up – just keep your eyes on the prize!

  3. Ugh. I understand those binges. My downfall are those organic oreos. Try not to beat yourself up and just get back on that horse.

    Also, I did C25K and found this great site with some good playlists for running. She prompts you when to stop and start running over the music: http://runningintoshape.com/5k-training-downloads/

    • Organic oreos? Well now I have a whole new seed planted in my brain! lol. Thanks for the link, I’ll have to check that out, I hate staring at the clock on the treadmill–makes the running portion that much more excruciating!

    • Ok I checked it out–I love the variety! ha. I clicked on week 3 because that’s the week I’m on and I’m all, holy shit this is GOOD music? Like Fleet Foxes, etc? I just realized there’s two versions… a pop version and a rock version. Very cool! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

