classic waffles and sausage, veganized

I’ve written about vegan waffles a couple of times but since I’ve been eating such healthy smoothie breakfasts as of late, I haven’t gotten the opportunity to enjoy delicious, fatty hearty breakfasts of yesteryear…until today! The reason we made waffles this morning is twofold: 1) I needed a break from the smoothie regimen, even if it meant a caloric explosion in my belly, and 2) my boyfriend wants to learn how to cook a few vegan meals, which I think is really cute. I was going to teach him tofu scramble, but he’s not too into tofu scramble and I didn’t want to teach him something he didn’t have any interest in eating with me. Also, we’re starting with baby steps here. He’s a really “down home” kinda guy so it just made sense that I’d teach him how to veganize something as simple and ubiquitous as waffles.

I pulled up my veganized from-the-box recipe and made a sad face. I want to make my own waffles from scratch but all the recipes I’ve found incorporated more than one kind of flour and I currently only have whole wheat in the house. Bummer! Plus, I’m big on not wasting food and I still have this whole wheat pancake mix that needs to be used…so we veganized that, minus the oatmeal part because I don’t have any rolled oats.The revised vegan waffle recipe goes as follows:

1 1/4 cups whole wheat pancake mix
1 1/4 cups light Silk vanilla soymilk
1 tbsp ground flax seed + 3 tbsp water
3 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract

We simply topped with earth balance, maple syrup, a wee bit of confectioner’s sugar (some would argue that this isn’t vegan but I have to guess there are vegan versions available?), and served along side some fried soy sausages. Decadence! I was going to add some color with some sliced bananas but you know what, I just wanted to keep it simple today. There’s always next time. 🙂

I love the lighting, you’d almost not realize winter is still going on outside.

close up. mmm, calorie-laden food.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

