being productive in 3, 2, 1…

This has been a productive weekend for me. The bf and I had an all-important chat about things which left us both feeling relieved about a couple of little spats we’ve had in the past week. It was great therapy. And on the non-relationship front, I’ve been busy cleaning, grocery shopping, and SHOPPING shopping! When I got my tax return and used it to nearly pay-off my ever-mounting credit card debt, I found myself with a surplus of about $300 in spending money this month. It should have probably gone to bills or maybe toward the San Francisco vacay fund, but instead I decided that DAMNIT I need some new shit!

I spent a ridiculous sum of $150 on bras/underwear that I desperately needed. When you’re on a budget, things fall by the wayside and one day you wake up realizing you only have two bras. What’s a girl to do? Buy four new ones, that’s what! I admit I spend a lot of money on groceries but I haven’t gone shopping for anything else for myself in months. Since we were out, I decided to traipse through DSW in pursuit of some vegan footwear. I knew it wasn’t going to be easy. I really desperately needed new flats and I don’t really trust ordering footwear online because I’m very particularly about how shoes fit and I don’t need to spend time and money on return-shipping, waiting, etc etc. I noticed that Madden Girl uses primarily faux-leather so I was mostly in search of their shoes. I don’t know if going full-on vegan is going to be for me, to be honest. It’s really hard on a budget, as I’ve said on multiple occasions, but even if I can’t go the whole 9, I am trying to make the most conscious purchases I can.

The shoes I wound up buying (Rocket Dog) listed their material is “thai silk”…I know. Silk is from spiders. It’s pretty much not vegan. But in the grand scheme of things, I felt more ethically responsible purchasing silk shoes than I did leather. Like I said, this is a work in progress. The website lists the fabric as synthetic, so I don’t know. Maybe it’s not as bad as I think. I admit ignorance on this one. I need to do more research on shoe materials and I’ll have to report back at a later date. I desperately needed new kicks so if I failed, ah well. There’s always next time. I promise I’ll do better!

I’ve spent the rest of my time this weekend relaxing and cleaning. My apartment really needed it. I did something stupid and weighed myself today, thinking I’d have lost a bunch of weight this week. In my mind, I felt very Biggest Loser-esque. No, I didn’t exercise for 8 hours a day, but I did do a complete 180. I worked out four times after about a year of working out zero times and instead of my normal daily chocolate fix, I only had one dessert all week–avocado-chocolate mousse. I was sure I’d have lost 3-5 pounds by now but instead it was nothing. I’m trying not to get bummed out about it because again, weight is just a number, and I should be super stoked about changing my life, training for a 5k, etc etc. It’s hard though when you have expectations and the scale lets you down. I’m going to try really hard to not weigh myself all this coming week so that maybe, maybe, when I hop on the scale the following Monday, I’ll have seen some change. I am not going to obsess over the number, though. That’s not what this is about, this is about changing my life and feeling healthy and happy. I’m going to keep repeating that like a mantra if that’s what I have to do.

I also spoke too soon in yesterday’s post about not feeling sore after my first 5k training sesh. I became more and more sore as the day went on and I’m still sore. So I’m especially excited to go to yoga tonight and stretch out those tender muscles. I’m a bit worried though–if it takes me over 2 days to recup after a workout, how will I ever get these 3 workouts a week done? I’m hoping by week 4 I’ll have gotten used to this and my muscles will reset each time in the day between workouts. I have never trained for something so I’m not sure what expectations to have about how long my muscles need to heal in between. Mostly I think it’s just joint pain–I had ACL reconstructive surgery when I was 15 and have never been much of a runner, so my left knee is kind of like “fuck you!” right now. My feet are a little sore because my shoes probably aren’t ideal for running, either (they’re at least 3 years old). We’ll see how this goes. Again, I will maintain optimism if it kills me!

I’m off to do a few more things around the house so I can come home from yoga tonight and relax. Woo!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “being productive in 3, 2, 1…

  1. Vegan shoes are hard for me to find as well. Mainly because for my job I have to have nice, yet comfortable dress shoes…a difficult combo for synthetic. If I could live in sneakers all the time there would be no worries, yet *sigh*…not the case.

    Hope yoga gives your muscles a nice stretchy massage!

    • Hear ya on that. I have a pair of my most favoritest Nine West black pumps that have gotten me through thick and thin, the most comfortable heels I’ve EVER worn, and I recently saw that they still make this exact style (mine are at least 3 years old so this was big news!) but alas…they’re leather. I love these shoes so much and I want to upgrade my current pair because mine are falling apart but….. yeah. Leather. Bah humbug.

  2. I need new bras in the worst way. and black pumps. I’m trying not to buy any new shoes that aren’t vegan. It’s hard to find!

  3. Melissa says:

    Oh my gosh, those shoes are so cute!! I loooove Rocket Dogs!! I know what you mean about having to plead ignorance on the shoes sometimes… I noticed that when you’re out shopping, it’s so hard to find cute things that FIT and aren’t a million dollars that don’t use some sort of non-vegan material… mostly this is a problem with shoes, not really clothes. Thank goodness I only buy cotton and jeans haha… however, yeah, shoes. And forget about sneakers… every pair I’ve ever tried on is definitely NOT vegan. And, for me, sneakers are something I honestly can’t compromise on because I’ve got some whacked-out feet… so far, I’ve noticed that if the shoes don’t have a leather sole, they deteriorate really quickly and fall apart within a matter of months. It stinks 😦

  4. Sarah @ Eat Live Austin says:

    just want to say– silk traditionally comes from bugs but anything that has a really high thread count can be called silk– now a days most silk used in cheaper clothing is made from plastic

Leave a Reply

