chickpeas are delicious!

I’ve somehow coerced my boyfriend into cooking helping cook dinner twice this week. Since I’ve start to add working out after work into my routine, I find I’m super tired and pressed for time by the time I arrive home at 6. Monday night, the boyfriend whipped together his one solid meal: veggie-tofu stir fry! He proudly proclaims that the only things he’s capable of cooking are stir fry and eggs, and I honestly don’t know how he does it. His stir fry is PAINFULLY simple: literally, the sauce is just soy sauce and garlic. But somehow, I cannot replicate it no matter how hard I try! So he made that for us Monday night. I’d love to experiment with some different stir fry sauces but haven’t found any bottled ones I’m really crazy about…and stir fry is such a simple, fast meal that I don’t want to complicate it with all that goes along with creating my own sauce.


Tonight, I tried Turning Veganese’s chickpea piccata. Um, holy smokes. This was amazing. I have to be honest, when I first saw this post a few days ago, I suddenly missed chicken piccata. There’s a restaurant in town that has AMAZING chicken piccata. I literally haven’t eaten it in years and chicken is something I never crave (every once in a while, red meat sounds tasty, but even that is rare) so I was surprised by the sudden pang. However, this chickpea piccata is a totally awesome substitute. My admission: I’ve never eaten chickpeas outside of hummus. And even hummus is something I don’t often eat. I really had no idea what to expect or how this would taste but it was awesome! As I posted on the recipe, my only complaint was not being able to shovel the food into my face fast enough! I had a huge appetite when I sat down to eat this. My green smoothie was awful this morning and I only drank about 1/3 of it, my lunch was small, and after working out, I was famished! I am not ashamed to say I had two plates of this delish entree. And I tupperware’d the leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch. πŸ˜€

The boyfriend’s contribution was making the spaghetti/washing veggies. He says I don’t give him enough credit for all the help he is in the kitchen. He’s an alright sous-chef. πŸ™‚

Something strange happened when I was on the way to the gym after work. The gym is in the link between two of the other buildings in my complex so I have to walk a little bit (indoors) to get to it. Normally when I’m walking around the complex, people aren’t very friendly. Even within my own office, I walk by people and they sometimes don’t even say hi–and these are people I know! But weirdly, as I was walking to the gym, every single gentleman I passed said hello to me. Um? I don’t get male attention much. And I didn’t know any of these fellas. I started to think maybe I had something on my face or my shirt was unbuttoned or something, like Elaine in that Seinfeld episode! Turned out that nothing was untucked or unbuttoned and everything was as it should have been. The only conclusion I can draw is that I’ve been really content this week. I normally probably put off an unfriendly don’t-fuck-with-me vibe but I think the vibes I might’ve been giving off were more along the friendly, approachable kind. Otherwise, I got nothin’. No clue why so many men would say hello. ‘Twas mysterious.

I’m actually looking forward to my work out tomorrow. This is a new sensation!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “chickpeas are delicious!

  1. Kinenchen says:

    I made the piccata last night but with tofu. It made my post jui jitsu tummy really happy but without major effort. Melissa is kind of a genius. Thanks for the shout out!

  2. Annie says:

    Yes! You were totally putting out the good vibes! I’ve noticed that when I am feeling especially happy or content, I get more hellos. That is scientific enough for me! PS both dinners look yummy! Chickpeas rule!

  3. Melissa says:

    Ohmigosh, yaaaaay! I am so jazzed that you tried the recipe. Chickpeas really are delicious… I am sort of obsessed with them right now.

  4. […] been eating a ridiculous amount of pasta the past two days. Carbo overload! Yesterday’s chickea piccata turned into today’s lunch, and then I borrowed ANOTHER recipe from Turning […]

  5. Melissa says:

    Omg, this looks delicious!! I’m putting it on my ‘to make soon’ list!! I’ve never had chicken piccata but I’ve had seitan piccata (from a frozen meal lol) and it was pretty good, so I can only imagine what a fresh version would taste like! Yum!! Also: I LOVE chickpeas!! You’ve really got to make them more! Yum!

Leave a Reply

