Valentine’s Surprise!

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! Or Valentine’s Evening by now. I’m not a big V-Day fan and honestly, all of the six V-Days I’ve spent with my boyfriend have been kinda silly. The first we spent together was the year he was away at college and I was finishing up high school. I waxed poetic about this awesome Italian restaurant I remembered from my youth, and we showed up there to realize it was under new management and the menu had changed. We took one look at the choices (and prices) and bolted out of there. I have never in my life sat down at a restaurant, looked at a menu, and gotten up to leave without saying anything except for that one time! We still laugh about it. It was mostly seafood, which he didn’t like and I didn’t even eat. Plus, for 17 and 18 year olds, the prices were really steep! We wound up ordering a pizza and watching movies in his basement instead. Ahh, youth.

As the years have gone on, I’ve become more and more obnoxiously feminist-y and I started to loathe V-Day. We’ve just never made a big deal out of it. So when tonight fell on the one Tuesday of the month that I volunteer after work, we were more or less kinda “meh” about the whole thing. No biggie! When I got home at 8:15 we ate Chipotle at my dining room table. Very romantic. 😉 I felt that my V-Day evening could be better spent with the kittens I try to adopt out at the local Petsmart adoption center. Although now my kitties are sniffing me out like I’m some sort of cheater!

I did have enough time to whip together something quite interesting for dessert in between arriving home from work and leaving to volunteer. This all started when I was surfing the web at work today and stumbled upon this chocolate mousse recipe, which happens to be vegan. I was scrolling through the comments and those who’d tried it seemed rather unimpressed, plus–it involved an ice bath and I just don’t think I’d be able to pull something like that off! Seems very time sensitive. I’m not good under pressure! So I started wandering through other vegan mousse recipes and came across one so interesting that I had to try it. Avocado mousse! After a quick inventory of the ingredients needed and a look at the process, I knew I could pull it off in the small amount of time I’d have. Weirdly enough, I had exactly 2 avocados I’ve been saving for some guac that never came to fruition. It was a sign from the heavens!

I can’t say I had high expectations. The whole thing sounded quite weird. But I gave it a try (the avocado didn’t blend well in the new magic bullet–yikes, strike 2 for the new blender), but it was great! The texture of the avocado is totally mousse-y! And the agave nectar and cocoa powder totally masked any weird flavor the avocados might give it. In fact, the avocados gave it a nice tang that I can’t really describe but was delicious. Unfortunately I don’t have a picture because we were too busy nomming for a photo op. There actually is a ton left over but sadly, the bowl doesn’t look too pretty anymore. I highly recommend this interesting take on chocolate mousse. And it’s very rich, so you don’t even eat too much of it. To me, that means DIET APPROVED! 😉

PS, I didn’t tell my boyfriend what was in the mousse until he’d tasted it. Upon finding out that avocado was its main ingredient, his jaw dropped. He said he never would’ve guessed!

(thanks to photoshop, I was very productive at work today!)

How do you celebrate your Valentine’s Day?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Valentine’s Surprise!

  1. Kinenchen says:

    I’ve been wanting to begin experimentation with mousse for a while and was thinking of tofu as a base but avocado sounds MUCH more interesting. Thank you for the hint. 🙂

    • A lot of the recipes I came across used silken tofu but I didn’t have any on hand and thus took a risk with this…it was fab! I wound up adjusting the agave nectar measurement a tad because the original tasted a bit bitter to me. Instead of serving with berries, I served with graham crackers and vegan marshmallows. Kind of a s’mores-y mousse. Delish!

  2. Yeah, I’m not a big celebrator of the holiday either. Meh sounds about right. And we must be on the same wavelength, b/c I made a vegan chocolate mousse too but not the avocado kind…definitely very rich though. I’m still nervous about trying avocados as a dessert…

    • Don’t knock it til you try it! but joking aside, I know what you mean…I definitely wouldn’t have gone to the store to pick up avocados to try this. But since I had them on hand and they were about to go bad, I had nothing to lose. It was really good, I wouldn’t lie to you! 🙂

  3. I’m so glad you tried this…because I haven’t been able to bring myself to!! It just sounds, as you said, so weird. I get the creaminess part, but I’m stuck on avocado making my salads and rice and beans taste good – not as something sweet. I’m gonna have to give it a go, I think!

Leave a Reply

