spicy black bean burger

Chicago has been hit with some frigid temps that are making my 100-year-old-building horrifically uncomfortable to live in. The insulation in my apartment sucks. My heat is set to 72, much to my gas company’s chagrin I’m sure, but it is literally freezing in here. Freezing!

Yesterday I tried my hand at making a homemade veggie burger. I don’t have a food processor so I found the simplest-looking recipe with the fewest ingredients I could find. I came across this, and it was good! Of course I would have liked a burger with some more structure–while the outside toughened up and fried nicely in the frying pan, the instead was quite mushy. I added some spice to the recipe (cayenne, cumin) and topped it with some homemade guacamole (another simple recipe of avocado, tomato, onion, minced garlic, lime juice and cilantro [of course I had to add some bite to it and put a little cayenne and cumin in this, too!]). Turned out pretty tasty and even the boyfriend enjoyed it.

The recipe claimed it would yield 6 patties but I only got 3 out of it, so I took the extra one to work with me and chowed down at my desk for lunch. People are always so interested in what I’m eating at work, even tofu scramble and homemade stir fry. They don’t even realize how interested they are in VEGAN fare! It’s a huge compliment when they say it smells good, seeing as I know they all eat meat and probably wouldn’t be caught dead making a black bean burger at home.

Speaking of work, it’s getting difficult to avoid treats. My desk is not far from the kitchen and people are always bringing in baked goods–all sorts of things I’d love to chow down on but now can’t. Today there was a tray of fruit and cupcakes and I was more than happy to eat my tangelo and grapes but the cupcakes looked mighty tasty…the only thing getting me through is the organic bakery I’m going to pay a visit to this weekend that has a huge stock of vegan baked goods. I can get my sweets fix without all the effort of baking myself and then being stuck with a bunch of goodies staring me down til I eat every last one. Hooray for moderation!

I’m going to jump under my covers and keep warm from this biting cold for now. What homemade veggie burger recipe do you like best? How do you avoid the temptation to eat non-vegan treats, or do you find yourself simply not tempted?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “spicy black bean burger

  1. This sounds so yummy! 🙂

  2. Whenever I get tempted, I go home and make myself a stock of vegan goodies. Especially since I found out that I can freeze cupcakes and eat them over the course of a month with no change to the cake! When I knew there was going to be treats at work (for a birthday or shower) I would offer to bring a dessert to contribute (which is great for introducing vegan food, not that you have to advertize that it is), or at least bring one for myself! Cookies freeze great too, and take even less time to warm back up 🙂 If you don’t feel like cooking or baking, there’s always the Chicago Diner! Some of the best vegan food I’ve ever had there, and they make some MEAN desserts too 🙂

  3. Oh man. I had never even heard of the Chicago Diner until now. Just googled it and begged my bf to take me some time. 🙂 We don’t make it into the city as much as we’d like to but this place looks TOTALLY worth the trip!!

Leave a Reply

