vegan dilemma

I probably won’t be cooking anything interesting tonight. Today is my one day of the month that I volunteer in the evening at the local pet store to help kitties get adopted. I previously wrote about how I’d like to get MORE involved than two hours/month, but as of right now, this is all I’ve committed to. I’m anticipating not feeling too adventurous in the kitchen when I arrive home at 8:15 pm–tonight will be one of those processed frozen vegan veggie burger nights, more than likely.

After two nights of vitamin supplements, I woke up headache-free for the first time in over a week. I really have no idea if it has anything to do with the supplements, but I can’t complain about not having an aching head at 5:45 am.

As a result of all of this, I was doing quite a bit of reading about iron supplements yesterday. When I had my blood checked last year, my iron levels were okay–but I wonder now if my new diet will change things. I don’t want to self-medicate with supplements if they’re unnecessary–but I’m also not crazy about heading to the doc just for a blood test. Can you even ask for bloodwork? Like, yo, I’m going vegan, check my levels?

What I read about iron is that green leafy vegetables contain more iron per 100/calories than meat. But then thinking about this stat critically, I realized that 100 calories of kale, for example, is a LOT of kale, in comparison to 100 calories of meat, so of course the iron levels would seem higher when thinking in those terms.

Have you ever supplemented your diet outside of your doctor’s advice?

And a little bit of food for thought…I recently came across a linen spray that I got years upon years upon years ago as a gift. I used to have terrible insomnia when I was in high school and as a Christmas gift one year, my aunt and uncle bought me some different sprays. It’s aromatherapy and is supposed to help lull you to sleep if you spray it on your bedding. Last week, I had a rough time sleeping, but completely forgot I owned these sprays–until one of the cats knocked one out of the bedside shelving. I picked it up and thought hey, great idea, I’ll use this, but then noticed the scent: milk & honey.

Now, I don’t consider myself vegan (yet). I own leather shoes and wool sweaters (I imagine stringent vegans are against wool) so I don’t exactly have a problem with this product. I read the label to see if it had a list of ingredients because I’m actually curious if any actual milk-products or honey went into the making of the thing. There was no ingredient list,Β  but then things became curiouser and curiouser–the label proudly states that this product is not tested on animals.

A series of questions for you, now. What do you think, is this product vegan-friendly? Does the not-testing-on-animals part cancel out the milk and honey scent? As a vegan, would you throw caution to the wind and use this product if it helped you sleep? Where do you draw the line?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “vegan dilemma

  1. If I already owned it and it helped me to sleep (I was up a 3 this morning blogging) then I’d throw caution and anything else to the winds and use it. As far as owning previously owned wool and leather is concerned, that doesn’t stop you being vegan. Veganism also has to do with the ‘spirit’ of it’s meaning, which means not abusing or being complicit in any further purchases of animal clothing etc. You’re doing great! thanx for blogging about it πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for following my posts! It’s been an interesting journey so far and it’s only been a week. A year ago, I was so set in my ways. I don’t know what awakened in me but I suppose it’s true that you can teach an old dog new tricks. πŸ™‚ I feel very content with this transition, but who knows where this journey will take me.

  2. Melissa says:

    You know, I thought about this for a little while after I read it yesterday, and I think I agree with Eco… I would say that even though it’s a milk and honey scent, it doesn’t necessarily mean that it has milk and honey in it. Plus, it’s not tested on animals which, for beauty products/sleeping aids/whatever, is a pretty big deal. It’s so hard to find non-food items that don’t have some sort of ethical dilemma attached to them!

    Also, I’m part of the school that says, if this is the biggest dilemma for using this product, but it would help you sleep, use it. Obviously if it were something more damaging, especially if it may have been tested on animals, that’s a no-go. But this isn’t tested on animals, and you really need your sleep so… go for it!

    Sorry for the rambling! Did you end up using it last night?

    • I did not end up using it. I fell asleep like a baby and didn’t need it. πŸ™‚ Thanks for chiming in with your opinion, I was honestly so curious what other people thought about the issue. I’m looking at the world with a whole new set of eyes right now–it’s really enlightening! I somehow doubt that actual milk or honey went into the making of this product, too, but I could be wrong.

Leave a Reply

