vitamin B = neon pee

When I saw a neurologist last year with the complaint of frequent headaches and he discovered I was a vegetarian, he ran some routine bloodwork and found that I was dangerously low on Vitamin D and relatively low on Vitamin B. He prescribed some vitamins that I never took, which have been sitting in my pantry ever since. Since cutting dairy out of my diet a little over a week ago, the headaches have returned with a vengeance, which got me researching and thinking. B12 is almost exclusively found in animal foods, so if vitamin deficiency was causing my headaches before, there’s a huge chance me giving up dairy is contributing to the headache comeback.

I took my vitamin D and B complex supplements last night before bed. When I woke up this morning, my urine was bright green. NEON. Glow in the dark! Naturally I was a little worried. I had some free time at work to google this unsettling symptom and just as I figured, this was related to the vitamins I ingested. Some people were writing that bright yellow/green urine is simply the vitamin waste being flushed through the kidneys. Others suggested that the bright urine means my body didn’t absorb any of the vitamin. I’m not sure which side I’m on. I intentionally took the vitamins with some food (an apple) because absorption is one of the main reasons I’ve been anti-supplement in the past. I’ve heard so much about vitamin supplements missing the mark entirely, but now with this dietary change, I decided it was at least worth a try.

Regardless of the vitamins, I still awoke with a headache this morning. The good news is, the morning headaches usually subside within an hour or two–but still, it would be nice to wake up headache-free.

On lunch today, I ran to Whole Foods to pick up some nutritional yeast so I can finally make tofu scramble this week. I was lost for 10 minutes trying to find it. I expected it to be near the seasonings but instead it was by vitamins/protein powder. They also sell it in the bulk section, too, but instead I picked up a HUGE canister of it. I hope this stuff doesn’t go bad because it looks like I’m pretty much set for life:

Obviously as advertised on the packaging, this is a great source of Vitamin B–maybe I can forgo the traditional supplements and rely on this to avoid radioactive pee.

So for dinner I decided to use those beets I bought on a whim. I drew inspiration from this and this and came up with my own recipe.

I only bought a handful of beets because I wasn’t sure what to do with them or if I’d even like them. I didn’t buy the big dark beets–I bought a handful of small golden beets.

I cleaned them up with a vegetable brush, chopped off the stems and tails, and roasted in the oven (with a little bit of olive oil) for approx. 30 minutes.

I peeled and quartered them and added to my salad.

A few handfuls of baby spinach
1 orange, sectioned
A few large raw walnuts, chopped
A handful of craisins

I followed the recipe exactly for the orange vinaigrette. I would have liked it to be a little sweeter–maybe next time I’d add sugar. (Do people even add sugar to vinaigrette? I’ve never made my own until tonight–I’m such a novice.)

It turned out pretty tasty. The beets weren’t sweet like I thought they’d be–I’m under the impression that the longer they roast, the sweeter they get, but I’m not sure if that goes for the golden variety as well. I would have been happy if the salad had been beetless, but this was an unintimidating way to introduce a new food to my diet. The sweetness of the craisins and oranges really helped.

Later this week, I’ll be tackling that acorn squash I bought. I’m pretty pleased with myself for trying to prepare two new (healthy) foods in one week!

How do you prepare beets?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “vitamin B = neon pee

  1. Izzy says:

    Once you get used to cooking with it, you’d be surprised how quickly it goes. I put that stuff on everything! In soups, scrambled tofu, in mashed potatoes, sprinkled on vegetables, in casseroles.. you name it.

Leave a Reply

