still doin’ what I do, vegan-style

I always hate when I follow a blog and that blogger mysteriously disappears one day. One day they vanish and you wonder, did they get hit by a bus? ARE THEY OKAY?! You become close to your blogging community and once a regular poster drops off, it messes with the equilibrium.

This time, I was the Mysteriously Disappearing Blogger. My reasons for becoming the dreaded MDB are lengthy, and I won’t bore you with the details. Major life changes, big break-up, yadda yadda… but falling off the vegan wagon was not the cause. I’m still goin’ vegan, PLANT STRONG 4 LYFE. Things just sort of fell apart. I didn’t feel like my blog was very informative–and before/during my break-up, I stopped cooking for a while. Cooking for One was decidedly depressing. I’d open my pantry and cry. I’d pour myself a lonely bowl of cereal with almond milk a couple times a week when I actually felt like eating, and I lost 10 pounds. There’s not much to be food-blogged about that.

That brings me here. I still haven’t been doing much cooking because I’m now shacking up with a PROFESSIONAL (who I “converted” to veganism, no less!). He cooks, I clean, we’ve got a routine. We’ve been toying with the idea of starting a brandy-new vegan food blog together, but we’re both kind of lazy, unmotivated people so it’s been a lot of talk and no action (so far). I’m fairly certain that it would be an entertaining read–nerdy, photo-filled, humorous–probably not the worst thing on the internet. So we’ll see.

In the mean time, I just wanted to say that to anyone who feared I might have been hit by a bus, I’m alive! And if the New Man and I decide to fulfill our venture into full-on vegan food blogging, you guys will be the first to know.

4 thoughts on “still doin’ what I do, vegan-style

  1. Yay! You’re alive and still vegan. That is wonderful. I am glad that you have moved on and found a new guy. How cool that you converted him! I think when a man cooks for you, he’s a keeper.

    • Thanks 🙂 It truly is wonderful. He’s racked up 12 years of cooking experience in the restaurant biz and everything he makes at home is amazing. He comes up with things that I’d never even think of. I love taking credit for “converting” him but I never preached–he arrived at the decision himself, which is freaking AWESOME. I think his vegan eats could bring even the carnivoriest omnis to tears.

  2. Melissa says:

    So happy to see you back online! 🙂 You definitely need to share your recipes!

Leave a comment