new kitchen gadgets–squee!

For Christmas this year, all I really asked for was gift cards to Bed, Bath & Beyond. My mom and sister-in-law skipped the “easy way out” and actually bought me a bunch of needed kitchen items (cookie cooling rack, muffin pans, nonstick oven pans, a heat-resistant spatula, etc. etc.) and as a grab bag gift, I got my $50 gift card to BB&B. After a few returns, I had $85 to spend. And spend I did!

When I first moved out on my own, I bought everything super cheap. I wasn’t much of a cooker or baker, so my low-quality plastic utensils have gotten me through, for the most part. But I’ve been learning some hard lessons lately–like garlic is damn near impossible to mince without a chopper!!–so it was time to upgrade a few kitchen items. That day was today. OMG, it was a kitchen wonderland.

I am now the happy owner of a chopper, a spice rack, a METAL spatula that won’t melt!, an upgraded pizza cutter, an upgraded can opener, and a pizza pan. Oh man. I am psyched.

So naturally I had to come home and try out some of my new toys. I stole this recipe and made it my own by cutting out the carrots, adding some cayenne and chile powder, and adding some soy crumbles. I know I’ve mentioned that a goal of mine is to eat less processed food, but I picked up the soy crumbles the other day at the store and haven’t figured out what to do with them. I didn’t know how long they’d last in the fridge so I decided at the last minute, ah, to hell with it, they’re going into the sloppy janes. I really could have done without them. After the crumbles, well, crumbled, they really got overshadowed by the lentils.

But, this meal was fantastic. FAN. TASTIC. I made it as a late lunch and plan on eating some leftovers for a late dinner and some more leftovers for lunch tomorrow at work. The omnivore boyfriend even said, and I quote, “I think I like this better than actual Sloppy Joes.” He also said that if I hadn’t told him I was trying to go vegan and I was cooking him the kind of meals I’ve been cooking lately, he doesn’t know if he’d even realize it was vegan food. Seriously, that man is giving me some great sound bytes lately. ;)

Okay, I forgot to take a picture until after we each ate a serving–the recipe I linked to yields much more food than this. Also, this really doesn’t look that appetizing, but it was delicious–and who knew Manwich sauce was vegan?? I love coming across “accidental vegan” finds!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “new kitchen gadgets–squee!

  1. Thanks for linking back to my recipe and I think it’s awesome your boyf was so impressed and never would have even known it was vegan unless you mentioned it & likes it better than other versions. Love that!

    • Your recipe was to die for!! I’m so glad I came across it. It really, REALLY hit the spot. :) I can’t wait to check out some of your other one-pot recipes–this one was just so easy, and I’m all about easy! I will definitely be trying some more.

  2. Melissa says:

    Omg I LOVE getting new kitchen gadgets! Even if I don’t know what they’re for!

    Also, love the Sloppy Joe review– I think I’ll have to try it. I would DIE if my bf said he couldn’t tell the difference!

  3. […] surprise that the weekend plans were ruined so I thought it would be fitting to break out the ole Sloppy Janes recipe for some much-needed comfort food. After my boyfriend and I each ate two heaping servings, I still […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

